Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 2, 2021

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Biden:

We write to congratulate you on progress your administration has made in combatting the Covid-19 virus. Your administration's efforts have saved the lives of countless Americans and have put our country on the path towards recovery. However, we urgently request that your administration immediately issue the Occupational Safety and Health Administration's (OSHA) Emergency Temporary Standard (ETS) to protect frontline workers from Covid-19.

While your administration has made significant strides to protect workers and the public from the Covid-19 virus, frontline workers remain at risk as they face continuing exposure to Covid-19 in the workplace. As you know, many frontline workers are working to provide health care, groceries, meatpacking, transportation, and other essential services that keep our country running, often without enforceable health and safety standards specific to Covid-19.

On January 21st, you issued an Executive Order directing the Department of Labor to "consider whether any emergency temporary standards on Covid-19, including with respect to masks in the workplace, are necessary, and if such standards are determined to be necessary, issue them by March 15, 2021." The ETS was only formally sent to the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) on April 26th, beginning a two-week Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (OIRA) review.

More than two months have passed since your original deadline for an ETS to be issued, and OMB has had a month to review the proposed ETS. The consequences of these delays are dire, and for some workers the delay has been fatal. Our nation's workers need an enforceable federal standard that will ensure that their employers provide the comprehensive protections they need, including ventilation, respiratory protection, testing and screening, exposure notification, and on-site vaccinations.

Further, on May 13th, the CDC issued new Covid guidelines which state that fully vaccinated people no longer need to wear masks, avoid crowds or large gatherings, or need to isolate after

exposure or get tested unless they are symptomatic. We are concerned that these new guidelines may put frontline workers across the country at further risk of illness and death while no OSHA ETS is in place. We respectfully urge you to issue the OSHA ETS and ensure it covers all at-risk workers without further delay.

Sincerely,

Rep. Mark Pocan Co-Chair, Labor Caucus

Rep. Steven Horsford Co-Chair, Labor Caucus

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Joaquin Castro Member of Congress

Katherine Clark Member of Congress

Inde J. Z

Rep. Linda T. Sánchez Co-Chair, Labor Caucus

Rep. Thomas R. Suozzi Co-Chair, Labor Caucus

Rep. Donald Norcross Co-Chair, Labor Caucus

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Cori Bush Member of Congress

Ed Case Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress Debbie Dinjel

Rep. Debbie Dingell Co-Chair, Labor Caucus

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

David Cicilline Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress Jim Cooper Member of Congress Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Charlie Christ Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Hakeem Jeffries Member of Congress

Mondaire Jones Member of Congress Angie Craig Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Rosa DeLauro Member of Congress

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

David Price Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress Ro Khanna Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Andy Levin Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Marie Newman Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress Dan Kildee Member of Congress

Brenda Lawrence Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

Frank J. Mrvan Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress Mark Takano Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Filemon Vela Member of Congress viender of Congress

David Trone Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Maxine Waters Member of Congress Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress Nikema Williams Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress